Posted in Uncategorized

Job hunting and the life as a postgrad to be

So, since I am fairly close to graduating, I of course need to be prepared for the next step in my life.

Getting a job is not easy now or days, so all one can do is to try to make the most out of it and just prepare as much as possible. So I have spend quite a lot of time on updating my LinkedIn profile and getting more connections, and in a few days I had gone from about 75 connections to 123 connections, so that’s quite a lot. All I did besides updating my profile was to sent out as many invitations to different connections as possible. Some of them I know because I have met them in passing or I know of them, some of them I am only connected to because we have connections in common. Either way, LinkedIn is truly an amazing tool for creating a network of people that might be of use to you later in life.

For instance, the other day I was contacted by the editor of a blog based in Aarhus. He wanted me to join their team of bloggers, of course it’s unpaid but it’s a really good way of practicing my writing, as well as creating a network within this field. Also it will look good on my CV.

Other than that, I have been updating my CV and posting it to different job pages and getting recommendations from the publishing house, where I was an intern in the spring of 2012. I am also going to ask my current workplace for a recommendation, though it’s not exactly relevant for what I want to work with and the field I am educated within. Still, its worth having as many recommendations as possible. 

My next step will then be to find out more about LinkedIn, for instance which groups are relevant for me and so on. So you will probably hear more about LinkedIn and my search for a job in the future.

Image

 

Skriv et svar

