Posted in Uncategorized

Though things might seem impossible, they might not be.

Though things might seem impossible, they might not be.

Yesterday, I went to this lecture at The American Library in Paris on how to get published. It was really interesting, and I even asked the women giving the lecture a question afterwards(Anne Collomore, author and former editor at Penguin in New York). I wanted to know whether a publisher would find it strange if a non English person would send in their manuscript to for instance a British publishing house. Since English is not my first language, I felt I needed some reassurance in that area. Her answer was actually what I was hoping for, that of course not and that I should definitely go for it.

Something else bothers me a bit though. She said that most publishing houses will not even look at your manuscript if you do not have a literary agent. But I have no idea how to get one. Since I don’t live in the UK, it seems more or less impossible. So that is kind of putting a dower on the whole situation. So I am considering self publishing again, though I wish it didn’t have to be that way.

Though, yesterday there was a bit of a discussion about self publishing as well, and it seems like the big publishing houses actually go on Amazon to look for new up and coming writers, so in a sense it might be worth a try. It might be the way to go. But that still means that I have to find someone to edit the story, preferably someone who does it for a living.

The quote by Audrey Hepburn cheered me up a bit though:)

4 thoughts on “Though things might seem impossible, they might not be.

  1. Hi Malene, Congratulations on having the drive to pursue your dream! Ms. Collomore gave you good advice; I was an acquisitions editor for a small nonfiction publisher that does accept unsolicited manuscripts, but, most publishers (of both fiction and nonfiction) do not. However, finding literary agents isn’t that difficult. Many bloggers write about them; I’ve bookmarked several articles and will be happy to share with you if you e-mail me directly at cyjohnson5580@gmail.com. Also, check out the 2013 Guide to Literary Agents by the editor of Writer’s Digest–it’s available through Amazon or the Writer’s Digest website. And when you’re ready to have your story professionally edited, I hope you’ll give me a chance to show you how I can help!

    1. Hi, and thank you for you reply and encouragement. It helps a lot!

      I will send you an email asap, thanks.

      Good advice on the Writer´s Digest book and website, both things I can use for sure – thank you.

      I will definitely keep you in mind when I my story is finished. Hopefully it will not be too long before that happens.

      Again, thanks a lot – I really appreciate it!

Skriv et svar

