Posted in Books, Inspiration

A world of books♥

A couple of weeks ago, I suddenly found myself without any books to read. Or to be exact, I had plenty of books to read, but none that I wanted to read. I was looking for something specific. Something that would change me, inspire me, make me think and even challenge my favorite book Pride and Prejudice(I don’t think that will ever happen though), but no matter which book I picked up it couldn’t keep my interest going long enough to actually finish it.

When I was recommended to read Unwind by Neal Shusterman my expectations were low, since I am usually not a big fan of Young Adult books.  To my surprise I actually liked it, and I am now reading the second book in a series of 4.  And when I found a really amazing book blog in Danish, I started to make a list of must reads (some of them must buys), and a hope started to grow in me again. A hope that I might soon again, get inspired and perhaps be changed in some way or another.

Unfortunately, this blog also inspired me to buy more books (which I shouldn’t, as long as my moving plans are not yet finalized – going to London with a suitcase filled with books might not be the best idea – or maybe it is. But then I would have no room for clothes – but who needs that anyway?), which I will show you once they arrive – they are so beautiful.

In the spring of 2012 when I was doing my internship at a small publishing house, I was at the same time following a course called “Read to lead” training”. You can read more about it here. But basically it means that I am able to lead a read-aloud-group in which I will(as the name implies) read aloud to a small group of people and then make room for breaks along the way in order to discuss the text. I wrote my thesis on the subject, and was truly amazed by how much literature can help people. How it has the ability to change lives (I kind of thought it was just me who felt that way). This type of reading is used a lot in England and is especially aimed at people with depression, Alzheimer, ect. But is also a very useful way for people who do not read so much (or at all), to still get the enjoyment out of a good story and get to discuss it as well.

That is what I miss. Because not all literature is good literature and not all literature is meant to leave you amazed and inspired. Some are just there to entertain us, some are they to make us laugh, and some are there to make us think. I long for the ones that leave me feel amazed, inspired and like I have just come back from visiting a world so interesting that I would want to go back as soon as possible.

Here are some of the books that I want to read in the near future:

1)      Well-Read Women: Portraits of Fiction’s Most Beloved Heroines – Samantha Hahn

2)      Seen reading – Julie Wilson

3)      Curious invitations – Suzette Field

4)      Charles Dickens and the great theatre of the world – Simon Callow

5)      A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

6)      A novel bookstore – Laurence Cosse

7)      Let it snow – John Green

8)      Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares – David Levithan

I can´t wait♥

Image

Courtesy of Pinterest♥

Skriv et svar

