Posted in Books, Inspiration

When a quote from a beloved movie makes you reflect and wonder.

Sometimes I wonder about my life. I lead a small life – well, valuable, but small – and sometimes I wonder, do I do it because I like it, or because I haven’t been brave? So much of what I see reminds me of something I read in a book, when shouldn’t it be the other way around?

I have always loved You´ve got Mail, and when I was reminded of it again recently (through a blog – oh the joy of online communication. So much to be inspired from), I decided to watch it again. It is my favorite movie I think. It has all the elements I love in a good movie (or a good book) – A love of books, dreams, possibilities. The hope that there is something better out there. Something to hope for, something to dream about and the possibility to make it happen!

Every time I watch this movie, I want to read Pride and Prejudice again. I must admit, that I feel kind of like Kathleen Kelly when she says “Confession. I have read Pride and Prejudice about 200 times. I get lost in the language, words like thither, mischance and felicity. I’m always in agony over whether Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy will ever get together” Despite having read the book a countless number of times, I am always waiting in anticipation as the plot evolves.  

The other day somebody said to me; being unemployed creates the feeling that your life is on standby, and though I didn’t agree when she said it, I must admit that I feel the same way too. It is difficult to make a decision on where to go and what to do, when everything is so uncertain. I guess I need movies like this because it reassures me that there is a happy ending. And because it reminds me of a simpler time, when I didn’t have so many “grown up” decisions to make and because it leaves me with the feeling somebody else out there can relate to my love of books, and bookstores of course!

I still need that kind of reassurance I guess. When I was younger I always felt so different from everyone else, because I lived most of my life in a world of books, and it was a great comfort that others lived that way too. I always carried a book with me everywhere – I still do and I wish I had known what I know now. That there are plenty of us out there..

I don’t have a single regret though. I don’t believe in them and whatever happens to me or has happened, I believe there is a reason for it. Not all the time, but most of the time.

Yesterday I made a decision that involves selling some of my furniture, putting things in boxes, and moving from one place to another. I am not sure where I am going yet, but I will let you know as soon as I do.

Hope you all have a nice Saturday – yesterday´s housewarming party at my house means reading, sleeping and watching Gilmore Girls all day.

Skriv et svar

