Posted in Dreaming, Inspiration, Lifestyle

Focus the rest of the year – my happiness project.

A couple of years ago, I read the book “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. She found that, though she was quite satisfied with her life, there were still some areas of her life that could be improved. So she decided to focus her attention on a new subject each month for a year. I thought that it would be nice to do the same, and it is very much in alignment with the coaching course I am taking.

 

September:

Throw out or give away anything that I don’t use. Prepare moving back to Aarhus, by only keeping things that I truly like and has a special value to me.  This will create more space for things that are important to me, and create a beautiful environment, where I am not bothered by lack of space or ugly things that stops me from enjoying being in my room. Furthermore I believe that, by surrounding yourself with beautiful nice things, you get more easily inspired to use your creativity.

 

October:

Don’t spend money on anything besides food and other essentials like tooth paste or shampoo. So no clothes, books and so on. The reason for this is that I want to pay off my debt as fast as possible. And by getting into the habit of not spending money on things I don’t need, I hope that this will keep me from spending more money then I should. This does not mean I am not allowed to buy books or clothes ever again, it just means that this will hopefully make me think twice before purchasing anything that I really don’t have any use for, but only things that will benefit me or bring me true joy.

Another reason is, I think that I(and a lot of other people) buy way to many things, that we just end up throwing out or leave around the house, which just adds to this buy-and throw away world that we seem to have created. I do my best not to contribute too much to that as it is, but this month my focus will be on it even more.

 

November:

Yoga, meditation, manifestations, spent time outside, health. This is to avoid winter depression, which I guess we all kind of get hit by once or twice during the winter time. I furthermore wish to improve my health, by eating less animal products (I am already a vegetarian) and eat much more vegetables then I already do. I will also not eat candy/chips, drink alcohol or drink coffee.  I will try to avoid sugar in general as well.

 

December:

Love, friends, family, coziness, books, Christmas.

This month’s focus will be spending time with friends and family. Buying presents that is carefully picked out, spend time gift wrapping the presents in a personal and beautiful way and on making Christmas decorations and cookies for friends and family. All this in the company of loved ones.  This month I will also spend a lot of time on creative things like knitting, sewing, writing, drawing and so on.

 

“Where attention goes, energy flows” – James Redfield.

Courtesy of Pinterest
Courtesy of Pinterest
Skriv et svar

