Posted in Books, Creativity, Dreaming, Inspiration, Lifestyle, strong women, Uncategorized, Writing

Big Christmas Magic ♥

Today is the 21th. of December, and I am over the moon ecstatic about the fact, that I finally have a long vacation, which means tons of books, long walks, writing, creative living, time with friends and family, movies, chocolate and carols 🙂

A couple of days ago I bought a camera as a (very expensive) Christmas present for myself, and yesterday I brought it with me when I went to meet a friend for lunch. We took it with us on our walk to the water and through the forest. I took some very nice photos and there seems to be plenty of fun creativity things to do with my new investment.

A while ago, I read Elizabeth Gilberts Big Magic – Creative Living Beyond Fear, which motivated me to do other creative stuff then just writing. Besides playing around with my camera, I am trying to learn how to play guitar, and have borrowed my mom’s guitar, which she bought in the 1970s (which is perfect since I am really into the 70s at the moment).

Big Magic is, in many ways, the book I have been missing and I think I will reread it in a short while, because I have this idea that it might have something more to teach me. Big Magic challenges me in a way, because it refuses to let me (the creative person) fall in to the trap so many creatives fall into; we take ourselves and our art way to seriously.  In many cases that means we end up doing less then we should or could, because we want all we create to be perfect and more important than it really is. So go do stuff! (Have you noticed that when people give advice, it is usually about themselves?) .

Elizabeth Gilbert is perhaps most famous for her book Eat Pray Love (which I loved!), but to me she is just as much known for her take on creativity as she is for her authorship, especially in regards to women and creativity. In connection with the publication of Big Magic (which was in September), she also started a series of podcasts called Magic Lessons, where she talks to a lot of different people (like Sheryl Strayed – the author of Wild) about creativity – you can find them here.

 

Skriv et svar

