Posted in Creativity, Dreaming, Inspiration, Lifestyle, Uncategorized, Writing

Writing Letters

When I was younger, I used to write tons of letters. I have had penpals from all over the world, and loved it every time I received a letter from one of them. This was especially important because it made me feel a lot less lonely. I did not have many friends growing up, but I am glad that I was able to find friends elsewhere. In letters as well in books. Words definitely had a major influence on me, and though I might have been lonely at home and at school, I found a lot of comfort in words, that made characters in books and the people who wrote letters to me (even though I hadn’t met them in real life), come to life.

letters

I think that is partly why the internet is so important to a lot people, it’s an easy way to connect to people who are on the other side of the world, and can maybe make you feel less disconnected and less lonely. I sure was grateful for it the times I lived outside of Denmark. Today I have many friends, but a lot of the time I prefer being by myself, and the internet can help me still feel close to the people I care about. Nothing beats a normal conversation with people though, so the internet will never come close to replacing that.

Anyway, this was not supposed to be about the internet, but about letter writing, which to me seems like a kind of lost art. One of the things I want to do this year is to write more letters, so finding a penpal or two will be fantastic! There must be people out there who still likes an old-fashioned letter in the mailbox?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Writing Letters

  1. Hi Malene, I’m a fan of letters too. Like you, I had a strong letter writing habit in my younger years, writing to pen pals around the world and letters home from my travels to far-flung places. I still write at least one letter a week. My mother (who lives overseas) refuses to use computers in general and email specifically, so we stay in touch by snail mail. And speaking of snail mail, I have a Pinterest board by that name! https://www.pinterest.com/alistegs/snail-mail/ I am such a sucker for nice stationery. Thanks for following my blog! Cheers!

  2. Thank you so much for your lovely comment, and sorry for my late response. I think it sound really nice that your mother prefers snail mail, I wish there were more people like that 🙂
    I love pinterest, so thank you for the recommendation!

Skriv et svar

